Cost basis of investments when moving to Canada...?

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

markitzero

Cost basis of investments when moving to Canada...?

Post by markitzero »

Something my accountant told me (and seems corroborated by reading I've done online) seems like a good opportunity given my life situation, but I want to ensure I'm understanding properly: If a country from which I'm emigrating back to Canada has no 'departure tax', then the cost basis for my stock holdings is deemed to be their fair value on the date of my emigration to Canada, is that correct?

If so, then consider this set of facts:
- I'm a tax resident of Canada and buy $10,000 of MSFT
- I then move to the US and become a US tax resident, at which time my MSFT stock is worth $15,000, so I have to pay the CRA tax on the $5,000 appreciation that is deemed disposed of. The CRA now considers my cost basis to be $15,000 (and I file the form with the IRS to claim the 'stepped-up' $15K cost basis for US purposes too.)
- I stay in the US for 3 years and then move back to Canada when my MSFT stock is worth $23,000. There is no departure tax in the US, so I don't have to pay them tax on the $8,000 appreciation, so far so good.

HOWEVER, I want to know what the cost basis is for my MSFT stock if I decide to sell it now that I'm a Canadian tax resident. My accountant told me that the CRA considers the cost basis to be $23,000 -- the market value on the date of my re-immigration to Canada(!) What, then, becomes of the $8,000 appreciation that occurred while I was in the US? Is it simply not taxable?
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

The process is well-known, and does not apply only to items you had before leaving canada.

But just to correct a few things: