1040NR/1040NR-EZ/1040 and Canadian Taxes

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

jacqueline

1040NR/1040NR-EZ/1040 and Canadian Taxes

Post by jacqueline »

I'm a Canadian citizen who moved to the US in July 2005 on an F1 visa.
Graduated in December 2006.
Started working on OPT March 2007 to October 2007.
Have been working on H1-B status from October 2007 to current.

I was a resident of Canada from January 2007 - February 2007.
Have a small amount of interest income from Canada in 2007 (about $1500)
Have an Ontario drivers licence, a Canadian bank account but do not have a home, personal property or dependents in Canada.

I'm really confused about how to file taxes and thought I'd reach out to someone who is knowledgeable in this area. I have 3 questions:

1) I don't pass the substatial presence test so should I

a) file 1040NR
b) file 1040NR given my change of status in 2007 from nonresident to resident
c) elect to file 1040

2) Am I considered a resident of Canada for tax purposes? I've tried to fill out the return but am finding that if I report US income, I end up paying over $4000 in Cdn taxes because of the US income I've earned yet only earned $1500 of Canadian income.

3) If I'm a non-resident of Canada, do I need to report my US income on my Canadian tax return?

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks so much!!
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

You are and EMIGRANT of canada, read that guide on CRA website; you have certain rules to follow.

You should also be getting rid of you ON driver's license; it's no good anymore. You live in a state: you need their DL.

Although you don't meet SPT (because your days on OPT didn't count) you can (andprobably SHOULD) choose to be US residnt for the whole year and use 1040.