Algorithm for doing a 3520-3520A in 2nd year and beyond

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

CdnAmerican

Algorithm for doing a 3520-3520A in 2nd year and beyond

Post by CdnAmerican »

Hello! This is my 3rd year to do these forms, and each year I feel like I have to reinvent the wheel. So I thought I would put out an algorithm that could be used. I'm open to feedback on this, if I've missed something. But hopefully it can be an aid to others, at least as a starting point. I am not a professional, just a US citizen in Canada.

This is designed for people who have done a 3520 and 3520 A in a prior year, and it's mainly designed for RESPs. It's also for people who are just making contributions, and not taking out distributions. I have no idea yet how to do the distributions, and will hopefully figure that out before my children are in university.

If you have never done these forms, a better starting point is in this thread: http://forums.serbinski.com/viewtopic.p ... light=3520

I'm no professional, so keep that in mind. This is not advice in any way shape or form, but rather is what I have done. Note that my success with the 3520 has not been stellar in the past, as evidenced by my prior posts. But hopefully I have learned from my mistakes.

1) I pulled out last year's 3520 & 3520-A, as well as my quarterly statements. For 3520-A, Part III, I moved everything in the End of Tax Year column for 2011 into the Beginning of Tax Year column for 2012.

2) I figured out a) my contributions, b) any dividends, and c) any government matching funds.