Best plan for US retirement accounts after moving to Canada

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

EKFS

Best plan for US retirement accounts after moving to Canada

Post by EKFS »

I am a dual US/Canadian citizen and I moved back to Canada about two years ago after going to school and later working in the US for 5 years. While I was working, my employers made contributions to a 401(a) and 403(b) (Both through TIAA-CREF), and unfortunately I didn't look into whether I should roll them over into an IRA before I moved back to Canada (which after a little Googling now appears might have been a good idea, depending on who you ask). I'm now trying to figure out what the best plan is for the accounts now that I am a resident of Canada. My plan at this point is to remain in Canada for the foreseeable future. I'm 30, so not exactly close to the cut-off for the 10% early withdrawal penalty.

It seems like I can leave the accounts as-is if I want to (TIAA-CREF did not freak out when I changed my address), but I'm not sure if there is a better option, or what the long term implications of this will be. As an alternative, should I be trying to convert these to an RRSP (and can I do this as a lump-sum under section 60(j)?) and/or cash them out in a year when my Canadian tax burden is particularly high so I can take advantage of the Foreign Tax Credit on the withholding tax and/or penalty? Are there any other options at present?

Any advice would be much appreciated.
ExpatAmerican

Post by ExpatAmerican »

If you are looking for a "legal" answer to your question on what should be done with your TIAA-CREF accounts, then you should ensure the following: