Closing US HSA as a Canadian resident

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

gnham

Closing US HSA as a Canadian resident

Post by gnham »

Hi there,
I have recently moved back to Canada from the US, and I am now a Canadian resident. I have an American HSA that I am going to close, because I cannot use it and the monthly fees will otherwise deplete its value to 0 before I turn 65.
I believe that I need to report the remaining balance of my account as a distribution, on form 8889, and pay associated taxes. Do I also need to report anything to the Canadian government?
Thanks!
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

I would report it.

2 things to keep in mind: i would probably wait until 2013 to take any taxable distributions, taking enough in 2012 to cover medical expenses incurred, since this would be added to your 2012 income. If you wait until 2013, this will be your only US income, and the tax on 1040NR should not be very much, and you will have another year of medical expenses to use against it.

Any non-qualified distributions will be subject to both income tax in US and Canada and 20% additional tax in US, both of which can be used on your Cdn return towards the foreign tax credit.

How much HSA are we talking about.
nelsona non grata. Non pro. Please Search previous posts, no situation is unique as you might think. Happy Browsing :D
gnham

Post by gnham »

Thanks for the reply!

This is about $1400 in HSA. The suggestion to wait until next year makes a lot of sense - I hadn't thought about that. Thanks a lot!
brianbbc

Post by brianbbc »