confusion on incomes to report on multiple 2017 tax returns

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

hs8484

confusion on incomes to report on multiple 2017 tax returns

Post by hs8484 »

I moved from Quebec to Washington state at the end of November 2017.
From Jan 2017 to end of November 2017, I lived in Quebec and had a Canadian salary (with a work permit).
In December 2017 I lived in the Washington State with a US salary and received a W2 (with a L1 visa). I was in the US on December 31st 2017. I don't meet IRS’s Substantial Presence Test for 2017.
During the entire year, Jan to Dec, I received rental income from a property in Illinois.

My understanding, that I would like to double-check, is that for tax purposes I am a Canadian resident and a non US resident (1040NR form) for the entire year 2017. On my Canadian tax return, I should include incomes from all sources (US and Canadian) for the period I was in Canada, i.e. from January to November. US incomes from December (rental income and W2) should not be included in the Canadian tax return.
On my US federal tax return (1040NR) I should mention all US incomes for the whole year (rental income and December W2). On my Illinois state tax return I should mention the Illinois rental income from the whole year as well.

Is my understanding correct?

My rental incomes from January to November would be listed on my Canadian tax return, Quebec tax return, US federal tax return and Illinois tax return. How do I prevent from being taxed on it multiple times?
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

You are a tax resident of Quebec until November 2017, when you left. You file a departure return for Canada and QC, with those dates. You report income to Canada for those dates only, as you said.