Childcare and adoption expenses

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

samstone

Childcare and adoption expenses

Post by samstone »

I have a unique situation that I can’t find much about on the web or this forum.

I’m a US resident and citizen that files a joint return in the US. I commute to work on a daily basis to Canada. I have two new issues that I have not dealt with in years previous.

1) I paid daycare in Canada for my child
2) We adopted a child (domestic) in the US that finalized in 2017

1) I confirmed that I’m eligible to deduct the childcare on the Canadian side because the services were provided in Canada and paid to a Canadian resident. In order to deduct these, I also need to meet the other normal criteria such as me being the lower income earner, which I am.

I’m trying to determine if these can also be deducted on the US side. I read publication 513 and the instructions for the form and it says “If you are living abroad, your care provider may not have, and may not be required to get, a U.S. taxpayer identification number. If so, enter "LAFCP" (Living Abroad Foreign Care Provider) in the space for the care provider's taxpayer identification number.â€￾ I’m not living abroad, but if the IRS permits this for those individuals, I’m making the assumption that I’m ok to deduct them on the US side. Can anyone confirm this?