Cdn non-resident with only bank interest - must I even file?

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

mappiq

Cdn non-resident with only bank interest - must I even file?

Post by mappiq »

I am a non-resident of Canada (I am a resident of the USA, where I live and work) for the entire 2017 tax year.
I have bank accounts in Canada and earn interest. This bank interest is the [b]only[/b] income I earn in Canada.
I believe that the tax rate on bank interest for non-residents is 0%, so I do not owe any taxes in Canada whatsoever. [paragraph 212(1)(b)]
Can anyone please confirm this?

Now for my question:

Assuming the above is true, I would therefore owe $0 of tax in Canada. Do I have to file a Canadian tax return? Or does this mean that I do not have to file a Canadian return at all?

[Obviously I have to report, file, and pay tax on this in the USA; the question is only regarding Canada.]
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

Bank interest, even if it was not zero, would not be reported on a tax return in Canada by non-residents. It would be subject to a flat tax as final tax in Canada.

So, for all those reasons: non-resident, % tax rate and flat tax , you do not file a return.

HOWEVER, this begs the question aboutr whether or not you took care of any departure requirements rom when you left Canada (assuming you were resident at one time).
nelsona non grata. Non pro. Please Search previous posts, no situation is unique as you might think. Happy Browsing :D
mappiq

Post by mappiq »