XXC version of 1040NR

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

adeboloj

XXC version of 1040NR

Post by adeboloj »

Also, if you are a Cdn resident, and you do think you need to reduce your US tax, you should be looking at filing a XXV version of 1040NR, which you can read about in other posts.

Nelsona, above is one of your comments, please could you refer me to earlier posts on this topic? I am a Cdn resident and might be paying too much tax on my U.S income so i need to know how to go about my tax next year...
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

You will have to search
Are you married’? It only applies to couples
nelsona non grata. Non pro. Please Search previous posts, no situation is unique as you might think. Happy Browsing :D
adeboloj

Post by adeboloj »

I have searched AND HAVENT seen anything but will keep trying...am trying to understand why CRA did not allow all my foreign tax paid to U.S government (just worked 7 months in the U.S in 2016), I am afraid of same thing happening to the foreign tax credit for 2017 since i pretty much worked the whole year and dont want to end up with CRA disallowing a higher portion of the foreign taxes.

To your question, yes I am married (with family in Canada) but I work in U.S. I am thinking of benefits of filing 1040 as against 1040NR and ultimately will have to file resident with CRA since i still have a strong tie in Canada.
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

Yes, we already went through this discussion last spring.

Wgeb you sat "disallow" your US tax credit, do you mean that they lowered the amount you tried to claim, or that the math resulted in the amount you were allowed to claim was less than your total tax? These are two different issues.