Depreciation Recapture of Canadian Rental that did not have

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

depreciationrecapture

Depreciation Recapture of Canadian Rental that did not have

Post by depreciationrecapture »

I am a US resident since 2011 and I sold a Canadian rental property in 2016 that I owned for 10 years. It was my principal residence till 2008. I made the mistake of not using depreciation in Canada and I am looking at depreciation recapture in US with no equivalent on Canadian side. I have seen in these forums that this is not the recommended path. Hoping that there is something I can do to salvage the situation!

I have paid rental income tax of approximately 2000 every year in Canada (Section 216) and nothing or negative in US for 2011-2015. The Canadian rental income tax is not reflected anywhere on the US side currently. Can I amend returns from 2011 to 2015 and add the net rental income (line 1a) on form 1116 with corresponding tax paid (line 8)? Of course these would not generate Foreign tax credits (FTCs) for the past returns since there would be zero or negative rental income on the US side to get credit for but I'll be able to accumulate the FTCs. Then for 2016, I can put depreciation recapture as income on form 1116 (line 1a). There wouldn't be any tax paid in Canada for it but I can use all the carry forwards of rental income tax on line 10 (Carry-back or carryover). Any opinions on this strategy? One concern is that there is a sizable loss on the US side in couple of years and I am not sure how that affects the determination.

Thanks in advance!
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

You can try. Generally you are only allowed to amend the past 3 years' returns.