Foreign Tax Credit Sale US Property

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

stannd

Foreign Tax Credit Sale US Property

Post by stannd »

Hi Nelsona,

Hoping for some help on my Canadian return. I’m a resident of Canada and sold my US property for which I’m NOT claiming the principal residence exemption for in Canada or the US. So, I will have capital gains to report on both my US return and Canadian return.

I’m confused about how to take the foreign tax credit on the Canadian side. I did a bit of research and concluded that this income is Non-Business income. On my software, I have the option of putting it in 1) Investment, 2) Real Property, or 3) Other. The foreign tax credit is different depending on how I classify it. This is because 1) Investment allows 20(11) deduction AND 20(12) deduction, 2) Real Property only allows 20(12) deduction and 3) Other does NOT allow either. Which “bucketâ€￾ do I put it in?

If I enter just normal capital gains on the foreign income screen, it gets pulled into 3) Other. But are capital gains from real property treated differently?
Furthermore, do I include the FULL capital gain in my calculation of non-business income OR just the TAXABLE capital gain (50%). I think it must be the 50%.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

It is real property. They are treated differently because most treaties "re-source" foreign capital gains EXCEPT for real property, which remains fully taxable by the foreign country, and most other foreign tax arising from "investment" would be flat-taxed at 15% or less.