Canadian moving to US, TFSA question

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

frostbyte

Canadian moving to US, TFSA question

Post by frostbyte »

Hi all,

I'm a Canadian studying in Canada until I graduate in April, then moving to California for work this July.

Last year I did two paid internships in California, the first from Jan-Apr 2016 and the second from Sept-Dec 2016.

I had a TFSA with several ETFs that I had been contributing to since 2014 -- I sold everything in it and closed the account during Jan 2017. I have not contributed to an RRSP, so currently the only accounts I have open are a non-registered savings account in Canada, and another in the US.

For 2017, will I be able to file income tax for Canada for Jan-July, and for the US for July-Dec (thereby not being taxed on my TFSA capital gains by the States)?

For 2016, do I need to pay income tax to the US for interest accumulated in my Canadian savings account in 2016, or for my TFSA contributions in January 2016 (I can't recall if these were made while I was in the US, but I can check if relevant)?

Lastly, are there any other important tax rules I should make sure to account for in paying my 2016 and 2017 income tax to Canada and the US?

Looking forward to your replies, and thanks!
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

for 2016, you will be allowed to file a 1040NR, which reports only US income, so you are fine.

For 2017, because you are moving in July, you will be able to file either a 1040NR, or a dual-status return, neither of which will require reporting Cdn income from before your move, sa, again you will be fine.