Foreign Currency Gains?

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

SAM19

Foreign Currency Gains?

Post by SAM19 »

I’m a Canadian citizen and resident of Canada with a US $ brokerage account. I’m looking for some help understanding foreign exchange gains/losses. I sold over 30 stocks sporadically in 2015 at various times throughout the year and I’m trying to figure out the gains and losses.
I read on CRA’s website that under subsection 39(2) only the amount of the NET foreign exchange gain or loss for the year in excess of $200 is taxable or deductible as a capital gain or loss.

I’ve kept very good records and have the purchase and sale date and prices of all the stocks converted to CDN $. I suppose I can explain this best with a quick example:

Acquire 100 IBM shares at $10 USD when the exchange rate was $1.50 and subsequently sold the shares at $20 USD, when the exchange rate was $1.667.

Proceeds: 100 x $20 x $1.667 = $ 3,334
ACB: 100 x $10 x $1.50 = 1,500
Capital gain = $ 1,834

I suppose the transaction consists of two elements, the share transaction and the foreign currency transaction. The gain on the share transaction is $1,500, calculated as 100 x ($20 – $10) x $1.50. The exchange gain on the foreign currency transaction is $334, calculated as $20 x ($1.667 – $1.50) x 100. While the overall gain remains the same at $1,834 ($1,500 + $334), I assume you must need to split the two amounts to account for the $200? So I suppose the real gain would only be $1,634 not $1,834 correct?