Owing Fica if on F1 visa but not a Canadian resident?

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

Vancouverexpat

Owing Fica if on F1 visa but not a Canadian resident?

Post by Vancouverexpat »

I am trying to figure out if I owe fica if I'm not a Canadian resident for tax purposes. I've been in the US for 4 years, since 2010. I was on an F1 visa while I was in school for two years and then was on the F1 OPT visa after I graduated and found work, I am now on the TN visa.

This year I was unsure of my residency status for my Canadian taxes so I called the CRA for guidance on determining my status and they said I needed to fill out a residency determination form. After I sent the form in, I received a letter from the CRA with a determination that I was a non-resident since 2010 (the entire time I have been in the US). I am wondering if I owe Fica for the years that I was on the F1 visa since I was not considered a resident of Canada for those years. Also, if CRA does not consider me a resident for those years, should I be considered a resident of the US or is it possible to be a resident of no country for tax purposes?

I can provide further information if needed.

Thanks!
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

The exemption from fica for f1 visa-holders is independent of residential status.

From an immigration point of view, you were at risk by not mainatining a Cdn residence while on F1, since that is a requirement of the visa, but for tax purposes, you were not resident of US amd were exempyt from Fica.