question on possible income tax return

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

jaeSun

question on possible income tax return

Post by jaeSun »

i used a calculator to estimate my tax return for 2004. what i got, was, unbelievable.

background: i am a student, married, with 1 kid. i made very little money ($18,500).

i did the calculation, and the only deductions i claimed was my college expenses (lifetime learning credit) for $2000. i am filing married jointly. i am 23 years old, and wife is 19. wife did not work.

i paid $1500 in federal taxes last year. (i claimed 0 on my W2, so they took out as much taxes as possible).

and the result?

(sorry about the big picture)
http://hosted.whiteazn.com/tax.bmp

the explanations they gave for the extra $3000:

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">refundable tax credits:

These are tax credits that are considered the same as payments since you can receive these credits even if your tax liability is zero. Usually credits only reduce your tax liability to zero. These go beyond that.

Earned Income Credit:

The earned income credit is a credit available to working Americans. It is calculated based on your income and the number of so-called "qualifying children" you support. A qualifying child is a child, grandchild, or foster child who is either under age 19, under age 24 and a student, or disabled at the end of 2004. We estimate your earned income credit based on the information you enter about your dependents and your income.

The maximum earned income credit for 2004 is $4,300 and is available to taxpayers who earn $10,750 - $14,040 and have two or more qualifying children.