How much Canadian tax to pay as a Canadian working in US

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

ottawa

How much Canadian tax to pay as a Canadian working in US

Post by ottawa »

Hi,
I am a Canadian Resident, now considering applying a job at California. I am not able to eliminate all my Canadian ties, so going to be considered as a Canadian Resident even though living and working at US.
Now I want to get a sense of how much tax I have to pay to Canadian government each year. I know there is tax treaty between Canada and US. Instead of double taxed, I have to pay the tax difference to Canada.
If all my income is 150K and my wife's income is 80K. In US, I can tax as a family, so the marginal tax rate is about 33%, but in Canada, we are taxed as each individual. For a 150K income, the marginal tax rate is 46% from 130K to 150K and 43% from 90K to 130K. My very rough calculation is around 5K or 7K.

I appreciate everybody's help.

Tao
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

Why would you think you need to eliminate "all" Cdn ties.

Once you live and work in US, you are considered US tax resident (and Cdn non-resident) regardless of your ties in Canada.
nelsona non grata. Non pro. Please Search previous posts, no situation is unique as you might think. Happy Browsing :D
ottawa

Post by ottawa »

Not all, but there are ties that will deem me as a Canadian Resident even though I am living and working at US. For example, my house in Canada and a small inactive corporation but with some profits within it.
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

Nope. Neither of these would be considered your centre of viatl interestd. Really, only your spouse remaining in canada would *possibly* outweigh a "deemed non-resident" determination for you.