CPP Disability Child Benefit as Non-Resident of Canada

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

alfredx

CPP Disability Child Benefit as Non-Resident of Canada

Post by alfredx »

Hello,

This forum has been extremely helpful with cross-border tax issues and it is very much appreciated. I have a question that I was not able to find by looking through the forum and would really appreciate any insight.

For some context I was a US resident for all of 2023, but due to some trailing RSU liability that was granted while a Canadian tax resident several years ago I am still required to submit a Canadian non-resident Tax Return (because portions of the RSU vested in 2023). As far as I know, this is taxed under the graduation tax rates along with provincial tax.

The issue is that I was given around $2k from the CPP disability Child Benefit because of a parent that had an injury many years ago while I was still a resident. This was paid out as a lump sum in 2023 and I was given a T4A(P). My question is with how is this income included in my taxes?

Based on some research, it seems that because of the tax treaty between US and Canada, CPP Lump sum payments are not taxed by Canada when a non-resident. So I would include the income but then ensure it is deducted from any tax calculations and then report the full amount to the IRS where I will be taxed on it. Is my understanding correct?

Any insight would be appreciated. Thank you in advance!
nelsona

Re: CPP Disability Child Benefit as Non-Resident of Canada

Post by nelsona »

Article XVIII.5(b) would apply in this case IF the that benefit would not be taxable in Canada when you lived there.

Was it?

If not, it is not taxable in US either.