IRA to RRSP transfer

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

Domeani

IRA to RRSP transfer

Post by Domeani »

Looking to move an IRA to an RRSP before end of 2023 to simplify accounts. Have read a few iterations of Stuart Dollar's/SunLife documents over the years regarding the strategy. There seems to be some evolution. I have a few questions mostly, not all, about the US side of the equation. I'm a Canadian resident / citizen that worked in the US many years ago (no longer any ties), only for a couple of years, and have a rollover IRA from those days.

1. If the broker, appears to, allow the customer to set the withholding % what value should be set? It seems many default to 30%, years ago with a W8-BEN one could get to 15%, but this is not always the case. One would think the lowest is best, why not 10%? But then what can of worms does this open? Is it a broker or customer issue if the proper amount is not withheld?