1099 for work performed in Canada

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

jessica_f

1099 for work performed in Canada

Post by jessica_f »

Hi all,

I have a question regarding 1099s. I’m on a TN in the US and is considered a resident alien for tax purposes. I get a W2 every year from my TN employer. I’m about to take on a short term contracting job from an American company that I will be performing in Canada. The contract will be written to my Canadian address and it will be paid to my Canadian account. Since I have a US presence due to my TN, I assume I would get a 1099 from this work? I’ve never done something like this before. Is this a form I have to ask for or is it just something that gets sent to me during tax season? And I assume that I will have to report this income in both Canada and the US right?

Thank you so much!!
jessica_f

Re: 1099 for work performed in Canada

Post by jessica_f »

I just read that through a Google search that “If the foreign contractor is not a U.S. taxpayer, and all of the contracted services were performed outside the U.S., a Form 1099 is not required.” but since I have a US presence, am I still subject to reporting this income? And do I have to request any specific forms from the company that contracted me for US taxes?

Thanks so much again. This is all new territory for me…
ND

Post by ND »

If you are a 'US person', as you describe in your facts, you'll need to report worldwide income on your 1040 but may claim foreign tax credit for taxes paid to Canada for Cdn source income, i.e., work physically performed in Canada. For contract work of the latter category, payer s/b issuing you a T4A with CRA (had you instead physically worked inside the USA, 1099-NEC would have been appropriate).