Spend more than 6 months in Canada per year and not become a tax resident?

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

taxpayer2000

Spend more than 6 months in Canada per year and not become a tax resident?

Post by taxpayer2000 »

Hello

Thank You for taking the time to read my post.

I became a US Citizen Canadian PR as a child through my mother. I went to college in Canada and was living here for a few years. I moved back to USA after getting a job in the US. Although I have not renewed my PR card, I am still a PR.

I want to spend enough time in Canada to renew my PR card which is 730 days within the past 5 years and then depending on tax consequences spend 1095 days within the past 5 years to apply for Canadian Citizenship.

I'm studying laws and tax treaties to see if it's possible to stay a US tax resident and still meet the physical presence requirements for Canadian Citizenship.

My understanding is that as long as I spend less than 6 months in a fiscal year in Canada and my income is not from a Canadian company then I do not become a tax resident. Am I correct?

Is there anything in the tax treaty that allows me to stay a US tax resident if I spend more than 6 months in a fiscal year in Canada?

I do have the option to keep my home in US and not rent it out if that helps my situation.

I own real estate and stocks in individual, Roth and 401k accounts which is why I am trying to avoid becoming a Canadian tax resident which could complicate things.

But if I do become a Canadian tax resident as long as I become a non-tax resident in Canada again under 60 months, my existing stocks, real estate would not be cause capital gains tax in Canada due to the 60 month rule? am I correct?