Social Security Pension Splitting

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

Fug1

Social Security Pension Splitting

Post by Fug1 »

I am a Canadian citizen who spent some time working in the United States. I'm now a Canadian resident and no longer a "US person". My wife an I both have Social Security entitlements, but my entitlement is about twice the size of her's. We're still a few years from collecting Social Security, but for tax planning purposes I'm wondering if CRA allows pension splitting of Social Security income? I've read that CRA allows pension splitting for "eligible pension income", and CRA defines "eligible pension income" at the below link.

https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency ... ncome.html

Ineligible income includes "any foreign source pension income that is tax-free in Canada because of a tax treaty that allows you to claim a deduction at line 25600 of your return."

I think this must be the case for Social Security, because the below link indicates that a person can claim a 15% deduction for Social Security on line 25600, which is presumably the IRS withholding tax amount.

https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency ... tions.html

If it's true that Social Security income cannot be split, I'll probably plan for a more aggressive investment strategy in her IRA and RRSP accounts so she'll have a higher balance in those accounts at age 70 than I will in mine.
Fug1

Re: Social Security Pension Splitting

Post by Fug1 »

Actually, it seems like the 15% deduction on line 25600 is the amount of Social Security that is considered "tax free" in the US. Is the remaining 85% eligible for pension splitting?