efficient TFSA investment strategy for Can resident US persons

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

Barlow

efficient TFSA investment strategy for Can resident US persons

Post by Barlow »

What is the most tax and reporting efficient investment strategy for Canadian resident US persons who hold TFSAs (assuming one accepts the argument that TFSA's are not considered trusts by the IRS)? I'm new to this, but after a lot of reading this is my understanding so far:
-Canadian stocks, bonds, and GICs are generally good from a tax and reporting perspective (but they may not fit someone's investment strategy otherwise)
-Canadian funds don't seem like a good idea since they are generally presumed to be PFICs
-US stocks and funds may not be ideal because they are subject to withholding tax. I can't find a clear answer online about whether or not it is possible for a US person to avoid or recover this. Does filing form W9 with the broker eliminate it, or just reduce it to 15%? If the latter, can you recover this when filing your US taxes (and if so, how)? Assuming withholding tax can't be avoided, one potential way to minimize the impact of this is to invest in US growth funds (assuming this fits your investment strategy otherwise).

Anything important I'm missing?
Barlow

Re: efficient TFSA investment strategy for Can resident US persons

Post by Barlow »

I guess I should clarify that I'm making an assumption here that the investor in question won't owe any US taxes (other than possibly withholding taxes) on their TFSA. This is true in my case because my employment income is from Canada and I use the foreign earned income exclusion on my US return (and any earnings in the TFSA are likely to fall below the US standard deduction).
ND