RIF lump-sum withdrawal for part-year resident

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

SergeP

RIF lump-sum withdrawal for part-year resident

Post by SergeP »

There is a lot of information on this site about RIF payment taxation for non-residents of Canada. However I could not find info about this situation: If I am a Canadian resident only for a first part of the year, what is better - to take my RIF minimum lump payment when I am a resident or when I become a non-resident? I am aware that if I am a full-year non-resident of Canada I can elect under section 217 for Canada tax. But for a part-year resident, may be it is better to take this payment before leaving Canada ( to make tax filing simpler filing T1)?
Serge
nelsona

Re: RIF lump-sum withdrawal for part-year resident

Post by nelsona »

The Cdn tax will be lower if you take it after leaving. It will only be 15%. I'm quite sure your marginal rate in Canada is more than 15%.

The tax in US regardless of how you file will be less than 15%, so nothing to worry about there.
nelsona non grata. Non pro. Please Search previous posts, no situation is unique as you might think. Happy Browsing :D
SergeP

Post by SergeP »

To have this 15% tax, I will probably need to file two returns to CRA: first one for 10 months when a resident (T1 form) and the second one for 2 months as a non-resident (under section 217 and NR5 form) because my RIF payment will be during these last two months. Correct?
Serge
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

no. first, the 15% will be a flat withholding as a US resident.