Tax Implications for two full time jobs - 1 in Canada and other in USA

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

pals

Tax Implications for two full time jobs - 1 in Canada and other in USA

Post by pals »

My Scenario-

I have 2 full time jobs one in Canada and other in USA
Currently in US ,getting paystubs with tax withold on W2.
In Canada, getting T4 as my regular paycheck as this job doesn't require my full time presence as I can do remotely.

I am a Canadian resident and do not want to loose the status as difficult to close my other source of income through investments, trading etc.

If I cross the 183 days threshold in USA, I know I will be resident over there but is it possible to file the US taxes as non resident and Canada taxes as resident through tax treaty.

What needs to be done, your help will be highly appreciated.
nelsona

Re: Tax Implications for two full time jobs - 1 in Canada and other in USA

Post by nelsona »

You can't really choose to remain a CDn resident if MORE of your ties are in US. CRA will ultimately push you out, to get their share of taxes on your investments.

In any event, if you are living in Canada, you will need to pay Cdn taxes on ALL your income, and US taxes on your US income (unless you choose to also file a 1040 instead of a 1040NR).
nelsona non grata. Non pro. Please Search previous posts, no situation is unique as you might think. Happy Browsing :D
pals

Post by pals »

Appreciate your reply.

Please provide your inputs for below -