Moving to the US- Can I avoid paying taxes on my US investments?

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

apkesh

Moving to the US- Can I avoid paying taxes on my US investments?

Post by apkesh »

Hi, I am a resident of Canada and plan to move to the US end of the year. At some point after moving to the US, we plan to severe ties with Canada for tax reasons. During this process, Canada will tax us not only on your investments in Canada, but apparently, also on your foreign investments.

I have an investment property in Florida that has appreciated quite well since i purchased it 15 years ago. I am looking to see if there are ways to mitigate paying taxes on this property. One idea I have is to move the property to an LLC , but not sure if that would help. Any other ideas you can think of, please share.
nelsona

Re: Moving to the US- Can I avoid paying taxes on my US investments?

Post by nelsona »

FYI, your move WILL be your date of departure, not some date thereafter. Cdn real property will NOT be subject departure tax, but all else will.
You can defer the tax by election and posting security. Generally the property itself is used as security, but you will at some point owe the tax on the gains you made while a Cn resident.It is what you owe after all.
nelsona non grata. Non pro. Please Search previous posts, no situation is unique as you might think. Happy Browsing :D
apkesh

Post by apkesh »

Thank you Nelson. From your response, it sounds like there isn't a way around this then? Since we have not technically sold the US property, I was hoping there was some way to mitigate the exposure. I guess we'll just have to accept it.
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

As I said, you can delay the payemt.