Another one moving from the US to Canada

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

J972

Another one moving from the US to Canada

Post by J972 »

Hi all,
These forums are great and highly informative, thanks everyone for their contributions.

I’m currently evaluating a job offer in Canada (Canadian citizen) and will likely accept. These forums have been helpful however I’m still left with a few questions.

I am a US permanent resident in the US for 14 years and 8 years on the Green Card. At least initially my intent is to try and keep the GC, so I will have to continue filling US taxes. If I do give it up I don’t believe my wealth and earnings will trigger the expat tax.

1. 401k/IRA/ Tiny Roth- My intention is to leave these in the US and roll the 401k into the IRA. Roth conversion or RRSP conversion seems too costly. Schwab says they are okay with my leaving this in the US. Does anyone have real experience with this and Schwab?

2. Taxable Stocks- I will sell losers and exercise options before moving and transfer remaining stocks to a Canadian brokerage. What is the best way to deal with vested RSU and ESPP?

o I assume RSU are treated like other stock.
o Are ESPP shares treated the same way? In the US they have complex accounting rules. Does Canada treat their sale like regular stock sales? How does this get reported on the US return?

3. As for stock sales once in Canada, I know the cost-basis from a CCRA perspective changes which is favorable for winners. But once again if you still need to file a US return to you still benefit from this or does the US require the cap gains to be based on the original cost basis. Or will you just be reporting your net cap gains on stock sales in Canada to the US. Any pitfalls to avoid here?