Principal residence exemption when moving in and out of Canada

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

szbjsh

Principal residence exemption when moving in and out of Canada

Post by szbjsh »

I departed Canada on Jan 1st, 2021 and became a US resident on the same day. I am a little confused about the tax implications of my property in Canada. Your advise is greatly appreciated!

Background: I acquired the property back in October 2018 and it has been my principal residence from then to March 2020. I started renting it out from April 1, 2020 and I plan to rent it out long-term until I move back to Canada in 5 years.

• Since I am still a resident of Canada for tax year 2020, I plan to file 45 (2) election. I understand that I won’t be eligible to 45(2) anymore from 2021 and onwards since I will no longer be a resident of Canada, correct?
• When I file my taxes for tax year 2021 before April 30th, 2022, I will need to declare my departure date from Canada, which is Jan 1st, 2021. But is there anything I need to declare or file (such as an election) regarding this property?
• I do decide to move back to Canada at some point, say, in 5 years and reclaim this property as my principal residence again. At that time, is there anything I need to declare or file (such as an election) regarding this property due to change of use?
• Once I move back to Canada eventually and reclaim this property as my principal residence, the principal residence exemption will be based on below formula, correct?

([1 + number of years designated as PR]/number of years owned) x gain
nelsona

Re: Principal residence exemption when moving in and out of Canada

Post by nelsona »