Deemed disposition and share delisting due to bankruptcy

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

tony9409

Deemed disposition and share delisting due to bankruptcy

Post by tony9409 »

I'm a permanent resident with Nortel shares that had a large deemed disposition from 2000 when we moved to the USA. Nortel has declared bankruptcy and has recently delisted shares. They do not expect the shares to have any value after the process finishes. As I didn't sell the share, but they are being wound up by the company what happens to my deferral. Is there a re-adjustment process with CRA for this type of case... I know if I had sold them that I'd need to pay the deferred taxe and then claim on my US return the foreign taxes and the loss. Guidance on this is appreciated since little info seems to exist to clarify.

thanks
tony
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

There are 2 possibilities here:
1. When Nortel is wound down, you will be deemed to have disposed the shares, at which point you need to pay the deemed dispo tax from 2000.

2. You never sell the shares, and 10 years goes by from departure, and you are thus no longer required to pay the 2000 tax (by treaty). After that you trigger the loss, only for US purposes.

My guess is that it is more likley #1.

But just to clarify if #1 is the case. In no circumstance is US supposed to grant you any foreign tax credit for your deemed dispo tax from 2000. Th correct method would be: sell the shares at a loss, claim the loss or gain (based on the purchase price, not the deemed price) on your US return and then -- on your 2000 Cdn return, claim a tax credit for any US TAX you pay on that deemed portion.

Example: