Canadian working for US firm on a TN visa

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

Barcelona1796

Canadian working for US firm on a TN visa

Post by Barcelona1796 »

Hello All,

I am a Canadian citizen working for an American company on a TN visa. I have been working for my American employer since July, 2019. I obtained a social security number in June of 2018 during a 3 month internship for the same company on a J-1 visa (lived in the USA for 3 months that summer. This was also the first time i lived/worked in the states apart from starting my fulltime work in July 2019).
Fast-forward to March 2020 (pandemic began), we started working from home. I left for Canada in late March and have been here since working from home.
I notified my company of my location change and they informed me that if i spend more than 180 days in Canada, there will be tax complications for them and myself. I have not had any further conversations regarding my location change since then. However, I am hoping that there will be some sort of exception due to Covid. I understand that I am capable and permitted to travel back to the USA when I wish, but I am fearful for my health due to the excessive case counts and I feel more comfortable at home with my family during this time.