Canadian deemed non-resident on F1 in USA

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

canadian_tax_help

Canadian deemed non-resident on F1 in USA

Post by canadian_tax_help »

Hi there,

I'm a Canadian citizen. I moved to the US in 2018 for graduate school. I am in the US on an F-1 visa, so my days are exempt from the substantial presence test, and so I am a non-resident. However, on June 30, 2019 I was deemed a non-resident of Canada by the CRA, because my closer connections are to the US. I don't have many possessions, am unmarried and have no kids, so insofar as I have a closer connection anywhere, they're to the US (I have an apartment lease here, health insurance, and a driver's licence).

I have been working in the US on OPT since August 2019.

My questions follow:
- Do I need to declare to the IRS that I am a resident of the US as I am no longer a resident of Canada. If so, how?
- I have not paid social security payroll taxes on my wages, as someone on an F-1 is exempt. Do I need to repay those social security taxes then for the time I was employed in the US, and if so, how?
nelsona

Re: Canadian deemed non-resident on F1 in USA

Post by nelsona »

No, you are not obliged to declare yourself resident of US, since you are still F1, and have not yet run out the 5-year exemption.

You are essentially been declared non-resident of both countries, one by treaty, and one by regulation.

I'm curious how you were "determined" to be a non-resident of Canada (don't use "deemed" unless you are a "deemed non-resident" there is a difference).