TN visa Canadian and US Taxes?

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

lujian

TN visa Canadian and US Taxes?

Post by lujian »

Hi, There,

I am a Canadian citizen. Starting from February 2005,I work as a full-time employee for a US company in Virginia on TN visa. My wife and two kids are still living in Toronto, Canada. And they will not move to states in year 2005. I own a car,a condominium, and joint banking account with my wife, I still have canadian credit cards, health card, driver licence, auto insurence, etc.. Basically I still have family tie in Canada.

I have only stayed in States less than 35 days in year 2005( I do not think I will spend more days in states this year.I am on an oversea business trip for the US company.). I do not buy any health insurence offered by the US company. US taxes is deducted from my payroll every two weeks.

My questions are:
1. Am I a deemed non-resident for Canada? Do I have to send the NR73 form to canadian govenment to get my deemed non-resident?
2. If I stay in states less than 35 days in a year, I do not have to pay taxes to US govenment. Is that right? Where can I find some information about this?
3. Basiclly, how should I handle my tax.

Thanks a lot,

James
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

No, you will not be determined to be a deemed non-resident of Canada (DNR), because the first criteria for that status is to become a tax resident of another Country.

As you state, you atre not becoming a tax resident of US, since you are not spending 183 days there. Besides, you have no other ties there that would indicate that you LIVE anywhere else than in Canada.