Emigrants and Income Tax and Canadain Tax Software

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

Greg

Emigrants and Income Tax and Canadain Tax Software

Post by Greg »

I have read over several times T4056 – Emigrants and Income Tax for the year that one moves out of Canada but desperately need some clarification.

If we lived in Canada from January 1st until June 7th Then moved to the USA family and all breaking residential ties to Canada on June 7th.

When filling out our Canadian income taxes with tax software it came to the following 4 options

I was a non-resident of Canada

I was a deemed non-resident of Canada

I was a deemed resident of Canada because I stayed for 183 days or more in 2007

I was a deemed resident of Canada for other reasons

Not sure which one would be correct answer Any info would be great thanks.
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

What about resident with a departure date.

Lookit. If the software doesn't work, do it by hand. It's not like you can e-file.
nelsona non grata. Non pro. Please Search previous posts, no situation is unique as you might think. Happy Browsing :D
Greg

Post by Greg »

True, doing it by hand would solve the problem. When I choose "I was a deemed resident of Canada for other reasons" There is a spot latter that gives Departure Date.

I just did not think the other three options applied, but thought I would check with others that may have used Canadian tax prep software for there departing returns.
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

Do NOT use deemed resident.

Use RESIDENT of the province you left, and put a departure date.

When I say" by hand" I mean use the software as far as it is corrct, and then override what you know to be wrong, if indeed it is wrong.