RRIF Witholding Surprise

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

Philmbrown

RRIF Witholding Surprise

Post by Philmbrown »

This is a repeat request as I originally sent my question via your "Contact Us" button on April 25. I received a notice from CRA on March 15 that I owed additional taxes of my RRIF withdrawals in 2015 and 2016. The RBC advised me when I set up the RRIFs to use the 15% withholding. I am a US Resident. The gist of the recent CRA demand is that I should have paid 25%, not 15%, as the 24 monthly withdrawals are a lump sum payment, not periodic. Websters Dictionary would challenge the CRA on their "longstanding position" of regular withdrawals not being periodic. Anyway, is there any escape from this? Does IRS Publication 597 (10/215) defend the 15%?
When I spoke to RBC, they originally said they would not amend the 2015 and 2016 NR4 statements, as "they were too old". Does it also mean the CRA has missed a deadline for asking me to pay the additional 10%? Please and thanks for your reply!
nelsona

Re: RRIF Witholding Surprise

Post by nelsona »

The definition of periodic has nothing to do with the regularity of your RRIF withdrawals, and everything to do with (a) your age, and (b) the percentage of your funds you withdrew during the year, ie. less than 10%

Keeo in mind that in the first year of your RRIF, you are not allowed any 15%-taxed withdrawls.

Give me some numbers, and we will see if CRA is right.
nelsona non grata. Non pro. Please Search previous posts, no situation is unique as you might think. Happy Browsing :D
nelsona

Post by nelsona »