TN Visa and housing

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

cullen

TN Visa and housing

Post by cullen »

If I work for a US company under a TN Visa, can the company provide me tax free housing for Visa sponsorship if I also declare non residency in Canada? Or is it only available if I am still a resident of Canada for tax purposes.
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

I am unfamilair with 'tax-free housing'.

I'm quite sure either IRS or CRA would view this as a taxable benefit, so it wouldn't matter what your tax residency was: it would be taxable.

Perhaps other can shed more light on such an arrangement.

<i>nelsona non grata... and non pro</i>
MaggieA

Post by MaggieA »

Well, both Canada and US tax codes provide a tax exemption for clergy housing.

However, my response is almost frivolous, since it is exceedingly unlikely that the poster is a minister of religion. He or she mentions working "for a US <i>company</i> under a <i>TN</i> Visa". A clergy person would be contemplating working for a <i>church</i>, likely on <i>R-1</i> status. Not TN, anyway.
cullen

Post by cullen »

Under the IRS rules of temporary employment with a tax home base an employee can receive tax free housing as a reimbursement for duplicated living expenses as long as the assignment does not last more than 12 months in one area.
In this situation, my guess is that if the worker maintained his tax home in Canada he/she could receive the housing free. But if he/she claims non residency in Canada, does not maintain a tax home in Canada and files as a US resident, I would think that a fixed tax home in the US would be required. Otherwise they would be an itenerant worker.