Canadian TN commuting to US - how to file next year?

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

telly1

Canadian TN commuting to US - how to file next year?

Post by telly1 »

I have to say, I found this site rather late...but better late than never.
I've been working in the US for 6 years, contributing to 401k (for match), having extra taxes taken off and then wondering why I can't contribute to RRSP and get a deduction. :(
Anyway, my husband has also been working in th US (commuting) but he will begin work in Canada beginning next week. We have always filed separately using 1040-NR. For next year, I am assuming we should file separate again but in the future, would filing jointly (husband getting ITIN), 1040 make sense?

Also, to give me the benefit of requiring RRSPs (I would like to start using up some of my availbale limit) should I contact my HR rep and ask to have less deducted from my pay cheque? I think filing 1040 (non NR) might be a mistake given our situation this year (both having worked in the US)...

Believe it or not, I've read at least 1/2 the posts on this board...:)
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

Geez, where to start...

I think your major problem has been filing a 1040NR. Even if neither of you have been living in the US, you should have been filing a joint 1040. You are allowed to by virtue of being cdn (and also by virtue of having spent enough actual days in US every year).

This would have lowered your US tax rate substantially, and this would have made RRSP worthwhile (and deductible) in canada.

If your husband has been working in US, why would he now need an ITIN? Does he not have an SSN right now? It is good forever as his tax ID.