RRSP options & implications - Cdn now in USA

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

praxis

RRSP options & implications - Cdn now in USA

Post by praxis »

Hi everyone. I know RRSPs have been covered very much in depth in these forums, and as such today I have spent a few hours on threads dating back the last year and a half to research it as much as possible so I don't repeat what's already been answered.

I want to evaluate the options of whether to leave my RRSPs in Canada, or collapse the RRSP and invest in the US, and want to make sure I understand each of these options fully. I am a former Canadian resident (until 2002) now living in California with a green card with no ties to Canada or any Canadian income. It's most likely I will stay in the US permanently, but there is a small chance I will retire back to Canada eventually.

In deciding whether to dissolve my RRSP or keep it, I would very much appreciate your help with the following! Please correct me if I am wrong or add anything I have missed.

Option 1: leave RRSP in Canada, living in US
- need to report RRSP values every year on IRS form 8891, beginning with tax year 2004.
- need to report RRSP values on TD F 90-22.1 to US Treasury annually.
- pay California state taxes on annual increase in value
- Expect no withdrawals until retirement.
- Initial "cost/book value" can be withdrawn tax-free in US. Q1-won't there be Cdn taxes due?
Q2: When earning from the fund during retirement, how will taxes be remitted? I presume that 100% of the income is reported via a 1040, taxed at US rates, and if there is anything deducted at source in Canada, it can be applied on the 1040 against the US tax owed. No Cdn tax returns required.