FEIE - increasing my tax burden?

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

cosurshe

FEIE - increasing my tax burden?

Post by cosurshe »

I moved from USA to Canada last year. I was a resident alien of USA in 2018. I'm filing the 1040 joint return with the intention of excluding any self-employment income (consulting work for US client) and Canadian employer income we made after we moved to Canada. I'm using TurboTax to file our taxes.

Using TT, without entering my foreign income, we (me and my spouse) are supposed to get x amount refunded to us.

Once we enter our foreign income and get the exclusion (for the entire income - below the 104k limit combining both our incomes) the amount of changes to y, where x > y.

If our entire Canadian incomes are excluded, how does the tax refund reduce (hence increasing the taxes I pay)?
nelsona

Re: FEIE - increasing my tax burden?

Post by nelsona »

Because you are setting up a false expectation.
What you should be doing is reporting all your income, and then seeing what the tax would be, then taking FEIE.

You see, you are not allowed to file 1040 without reporting all income, so, if you were reporting only Cdn income, you would be filing MFS dual status with the higher taxrate. Go ahead and try that and see how much higher your tax bill is.

FEIE doe not take the foreign income off the top, it blends it with your other income.

Remember too, that you don't get the full exemption in this partial year, and that you cannot file FEIE until you meet the 330 days outside US.
nelsona non grata. Non pro. Please Search previous posts, no situation is unique as you might think. Happy Browsing :D
cosurshe

Post by cosurshe »

Hey Nelson, as always thanks for taking the time respond.