Is FBAR Required in my case?

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

cosurshe

Is FBAR Required in my case?

Post by cosurshe »

I was a resident (for tax purposes) of USA until June 2018. After which I moved to Canada. I'm now filing taxes in USA s a Dual Status filer, 1040 and 1040NR + Closer Connection to a Foreign Country (using H&R Block). They say that I should be filing FBAR even if I did not hold any foreign accounts prior to my leaving USA. Is that correct?

I did have more than 10,000 USD at some point between Jan 1 2018 to June 15th 2018. I transferred all my funds after I leave USA to my Canadian bank account, practically emptying out my US bank accounts.
nelsona

Re: Is FBAR Required in my case?

Post by nelsona »

Closer connection filing doesn't apply in your case, but that is HRB for you.
Any particular reason you are not filing full year 1040 to get better tax rate?
There is little guidance on FBAR filing for part-year residents, if you choose to file that way, but there is no harm in taking the 10 minutes to file FBAR, if only to protect yourself.

But seriously, I would be filinga regular 1040 for 2018. We've discussed this here many times.

And HRB sucks at cross-border items.
nelsona non grata. Non pro. Please Search previous posts, no situation is unique as you might think. Happy Browsing :D
cosurshe

Post by cosurshe »

Hey nelson,

Thanks for taking the time to reply. While I’m tempted to do that, I moved to Canada and started my own business which has had some income since I started it. To start the business I declared myself as a resident of Canada (which I am, A PR). Not sure how claiming to be a resident of USA is going to impact my business.
cosurshe

Post by cosurshe »