Correctly completing form 1116 and 405 - exited the US in June2018 but had US income for the first month or so in Canada

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

karthikkan

Correctly completing form 1116 and 405 - exited the US in June2018 but had US income for the first month or so in Canada

Post by karthikkan »

I was a resident alien in the US for 2018, and moved out of the US and into Canada late in June 2018. However, until mid-July or so, I continued to have income from my US employer. Currently, my plan is to use form 1116 and not 2555, since I will spend less than the 330 days required after exiting the US in Canada ( it's closer to ~ 290 days that I will spend in Canada, due to business travel requirements ). Starting mid-July 2018, I only have income from my Canadian employer, so things are slightly simpler.

I'm wondering how to go about computing the amounts on forms 1116 and form 405. I can figure out the exact amount that I received as US income from the time I became a tax resident of Canada, but how does one properly compute the tax paid on this amount? Mainly wondering since, my US return is a married filing jointly return, and hence has a lot of other income - eg. my spouse's income, interest income, capital gain, dividends etc.

On form 1116, do I report Canadian taxes paid on my US income when I was a Canadian tax resident + Canadian income, or do I need to do something else?
nelsona

Re: Correctly completing form 1116 and 405 - exited the US in June2018 but had US income for the first month or so in Ca

Post by nelsona »

The income from wages is not eligible for 1116 or 2555 of course, since it is not foreign income.