US Citizen Moving to Toronto

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

stubacca22

US Citizen Moving to Toronto

Post by stubacca22 »

I am a US Citizen who may be permanently moving to Toronto in six months. I won't be obtaining Canadian citizen status, nor will I give up my US citizenship. I'll be a US citizen living and working in Canada. I'm a CPA and I understand the tax aspects of the move (filing in both countries, taking a credit in the US), but my question involves my Roth IRA's treatment.

I have a Roth IRA that I started last year and I'm debating whether or not to continue funding it this year if the earnings will be taxable if I were to move to Canada. It's my understanding that they would be taxable as though they are normal earnings for Canadian tax purposes.

Would it be beneficial for me to put additional money into the Roth IRA if I am planning to move to Canada in six months?

Also, it is my understanding that a Traditional IRA does NOT get taxed on the earnings in Canada, so would it be more beneficial for me to convert the money in my Roth IRA to a traditional IRA?

Finally, is there anything about this situation that I should be considering that I'm not?

Thanks.
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

Your Roth will not enjoy tax sheltering while in Canada, and thus you will be taxable in Canada on any income it makes after you arrive.

Contributing more to it will simply make it more of a hassle.

You mention something about converting a Roth to a Trad IRA.

I'd be intersted in how this is done, as I have seen nothing written about this and am not even sure it is possible.

Take the following example:

You have $40K in a Roth, based on $25K of contributions.

You decide you are now going to make this a Trad IRA.