New IRS RRSP Form 8891 available @ IRS.gov - Post Q's here

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

nelsona

New IRS RRSP Form 8891 available @ IRS.gov - Post Q's here

Post by nelsona »

nelsona non grata. Non pro. Please Search previous posts, no situation is unique as you might think. Happy Browsing :D
canadian

Post by canadian »

Hello everybody,

I am a resident of US for entire 2005 and non-resident for Canada from January 19, 2005 (departure date). I had RRSP and did not make any contribution for 2005.
In July 2005 I cashed out all my RRSP account, no balance left.

Would you help me out with the questions I have, please:

1. For Canadian tax:
I just realized that RRSP manager withhold not 25 % NR tax ( but only 20%) despite I have informed them before of withdrawal that I was Canadian non-resident for 2005. I have not received NR4 receipt or T4RSP from them yet. When and what shall I do to pay difference in tax to CRA? Can this mistake affect my residence statues in eye of CRA?

2. For USA tax:

I have RRSP statement, which says literally that 'value of the plan on December 31, 2004' was CAD $11000. Amount on the plan on the day of withdrawal was CAD $13000.
There is no words "book value" or "market value" in my statement. Can I use CAD $11000 as 'book value'?

And if yes, will I do it right if I fill in line 7 in form 8891 as I described below:

For line 7a - I put all $13000 converted to US $ using exchange rate on the day of withdrawal

For line 7b - I put the difference between 13000 x (exchange rate) on the day of withdrawal, and 11000 x (exchange rate) on the December 31,2004.

Do I have to fill in the lines 10 (a-e) if I have 0 on balance after cashing out RRSP?

Thanks for any advice
nelsona

Post by nelsona »