Cross border tax question with Canadian Corporation

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

joshua

Cross border tax question with Canadian Corporation

Post by joshua »

I'm currently a physician in the U.S., and U.S. citizen, but will also be working in B.C. coming up.

Most likely however, my tax home will remain the U.S., as I will probably be spending greater than half the year in the U.S., maintaining a U.S. domicile, etc.

I am considering however the benefits/detriments of forming a Canadian corporation for my practice in Canada.

I do realize that under the IRC subpart F rules I will still be paying tax on my Canadian income at the personal tax rates in the U.S.

However, if the small business corporate tax rate in Canada plus the dividend tax rate is less than the Canadian personal tax rate, I will still come out ahead with a corporation, right?

The rationale is that the personal tax rate in Canada is higher than the U.S. personal tax rate, such that only the portion of Canadian personal tax equal to the U.S. personal tax on that same income will be able to be used as credit.

If I lower the amount of my total tax in Canada through use of a corporation, however, my maximum tax credit for my U.S. taxes will stay the same, but I will come out ahead from having paid less tax in Canada (and overall).

Is this correct?

Thanks!
nelsona

Post by nelsona »