American Living in Canada as a PR - Married to a Canadian

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

jdamico

American Living in Canada as a PR - Married to a Canadian

Post by jdamico »

Hi, I'm still very new to this so I apologize in advance if I've missed similar threads (I tried to scroll through to search but there are a LOT of threads to go through) :)

I'm a US citizen now living in Canada (just recently got PR status) and I have an interesting situation since I'm a software consultant who works from home most of the time, unless I travel to customer sites (usually located in the US). My company is small and hasn't dealt with this situation yet, but they tell me that as of 1/1/15 they're going to move me to Canadian payroll. I don't think they fully understand from a tax and reporting standpoint what their responsibilities are, because they had just planned to "hire" me as a Canadian employee and just use my SIN number for Canadian tax purposes.

I have a few questions that I'm hoping someone can help me with, before I determine if I need to engage counsel for more thorough advice:

1) How -should- my company treat me in terms of employment? I'm a US citizen living in Canada, so should I remain on their US payroll? If yes, how do I handle Canada taxation and payroll taxes?

2) I'm very worried that I'm going to become broke very quickly paying double taxation. Am I expected to pay double taxation through every pay period until it's "tax time" and I can claim a huge refund? My heart is palpitating even now, typing this! :(