Canadian resident's Website Income from US companies

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

estheryh

Canadian resident's Website Income from US companies

Post by estheryh »

I am a Canadian Resident working and living in Ontario all year round. I run multiple websites where I display adds from US companies i.e. Google. Websites are hosted on dedicated servers in US. I pay hosting fees for using their server.

I file self-employment income with CRA each year. Do I also have to file my income tax with IRS?

Your valuable advice would be much appreciated.
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

No, you are not physically in US.
nelsona non grata. Non pro. Please Search previous posts, no situation is unique as you might think. Happy Browsing :D
testone

Post by testone »

Not sure that I agree. The OECD Commentary to the Model treaty states that a web site does not itself involve any tangible property, and thus cannot constitute a permanent establishment. Paragraph 42.2. In contrast, the server on which a web site is stored and through which it is accessible is a piece of equipment having a physical location, which may be fixed and thus constitute a permanent establishment. If it is a dedicated server, I suspect you may have a permanent establishment. Even if not a permanent establishment, you may be engaged in a trade or business in the United States and at a minimum be required to file a U.S. tax return.
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

I'll ket the poster decide on whether his server is a PE.

However, your last statement: "Even if not a permanent establishment, you may be engaged in a trade or business in the United States and at a minimum be required to file a U.S. tax return." Is incorrect.