professional corporation income

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

plethorama2

professional corporation income

Post by plethorama2 »

Hi,

I am an american physician potentially moving to alberta from the us. I anticipate this would be a permanent or very long term move. In Alberta I will be taking a job in which a large portion of my income is placed in a professional corporation. This would be very beneficial for me if I was not a us citizen. However, as a us citizen I understand that this professional Corp income would be taxed at ?the current Corp income rate in the us without any tax credit for Canadian taxes since it is not earned income...so it becomes punitive taxation. I understand that setting up a unlimited liability corporation can help to avoid these issues but it is conplex. I am not sure I understand how a ulc works from the tax standpoint. Does the transfer to a ulc from a prof corp equal a distribution from the prof corp? Is the ulc not liable for any tax in the us? Am I best served just distributing the entire amount from the corporation to myself so that I can claim all the tax credit?

In general, what are ways to maximize savings for retirement etc. I will have a pension as well...is there any way to prevent that from being taxed punitively?
JGCA

Post by JGCA »

I am assuming that since you stated the income is not considered as earned income that the prof corp in Canada will give you the money you earned as a dividend T3 thereby you will not be able to exclude some of the income by using the foreign earned income exemption but you can still use the Foreign tax credit form and any tax you pay in Canada will be credited to you in the US.