2 Canadians living in the USA

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

mrkwkkrn

2 Canadians living in the USA

Post by mrkwkkrn »

Hi everyone

I am new here, and I have tried searching for this information, but with little success.

A little background: My wife and I are both Canadian citizens, but she is also an American citizen (by birth abroad). We got married last November, and I moved from Canada on October 1st, 2013. We did a K1 Fiance visa, and I am now a Permanent Resident (2 year)!

For taxes, I worked in Canada, and she worked in the USA, but I didn't work in the USA after I moved. I am currently getting EI from Canada, which is nice while I am looking for work.

For taxes, is any able to offer advice on how to maximize our returns in both countries? Also, anything we should know to do or watch out for?

Also, I have looked around for a comprehensive tax guide for this situation, but have yet to find one. Does anyone know where/if such a thing exists? A list of things to do/forms to file would be amazing(especially in the US, it's very helpful the CRA agents can offer advice) but I know each persons taxes are unique.

Thanks!

Mark
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

I can only help you in may. its tool ate now.

I have answer this type of situation 100's of times. happy browsing.
nelsona non grata. Non pro. Please Search previous posts, no situation is unique as you might think. Happy Browsing :D
rlb

Post by rlb »

I'll answer what I can, as nelsona is very tied up through the tax season.