Canadian Selling US Vacation Property

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

timf

Canadian Selling US Vacation Property

Post by timf »

Hello all,

I’m a single Canadian resident and Canadian citizen with a small vacation home in Florida worth about $50K. I never rented the property and have no US income of any kind.
I’m giving strong consideration to selling the property and would like to confirm a few things. Based on my own research and the help of this forum, I believe this is what needs to happen.

1) Complete a US 1040NR to report the gain on schedule D (Which is about $20K)
2) Calculate the US tax owing using the Qualified Dividend and Capital Gain Tax Worksheet in conjunction with the 1040NR
3) Report the gain on my Canadian return, claiming a foreign tax credit for any tax paid to the US
4) Buyer may have to withhold 15% at source because of FIRPTA rules
5) Because the value of the property is less than $300K, if the buyer uses the home for his principal residence, I can avoid the 15% withholding
6) Apply for US ITIN using form W7 at tax time and submit 1040NR with W7 to the address on the W7 form

I have a few simple questions.

1) From what I can tell I will pay no tax on this income in the US because my income is below $37,650 and the gain on the property will be considered a long-term gain. Is this correct? Seems weird that I would pay no tax on this to the US.
2) If the buyer is in fact going to use the property as his principal residence, how do I prove this to the IRS to avoid the 15% withholding?
3) Do I have any state tax requirements?
4) If no tax is required and no FIRPTA is withheld do I still have to file a 1040NR return?
5) Anything I missed? Anything else I should be aware of?

Thanks!
nelsona