CNDN Residency, Tax Filing Req. for working on a TN

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

Jacobab

CNDN Residency, Tax Filing Req. for working on a TN

Post by Jacobab »

Thanks for all the valuable pointers on this site for people like me who are working in the U.S. and learning about all the tax implications as we go.

I am a Canadian resident who took up employment in IL in May 2015 on a TN on a one year contract. The contract has been recently extended for another year. My wife and our two children remain in Canada. My wife and I own our house in Canada and we have joint bank accounts. I am continuing my OHIP coverage. I visit my family in Canada once a month.

My W-2 shows Federal & IL withholding as well as deductions for Fed OASDI/EE & Fed MED/EE. I used a U.S. tax preparer to file my 2015 U.S. tax. He filed a 1040, Schedule 8812 and IL 1040. I got roughly half of my Federal withholding back as a refund. I haven’t filed my Canadian tax return yet and have the following questions related to that:

1. Is it reasonable to assume that I will be considered a Canadian resident for tax purposes due to my ties with Canada (home, family, OHIP etc)?
2. In some of the posts I have seen that a 1040NR is filed by Canadians. I filed a 1040. Did I make a mistake? Do I need to re-file?
3. I thought it unusual to get back half the federal taxes I paid as a refund. Is it reasonable?
4. Based on some of the earlier posts I understand that for both the federal and IL taxes I paid, I will get Foreign Tax Credit. Also, I am allowed to deduct the Fed OASDI/EE & Fed MED/EE payments shown on the W-2. Is this a valid assumption?
5. If yes, which line do I use to deduct the Fed OASDI/EE & Fed MED/EE payments?

Your help is very much appreciated.