Accounts in Canada, becoming USA resident alien

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

jeff_kerr

Accounts in Canada, becoming USA resident alien

Post by jeff_kerr »

Hello Canada/USA tax experts,

I am a Canadian student studying in the USA and just crossed the substantial presence limit (5 years for F1 students) as of Jan 1 2015. I wonder if you could help me in understanding USA resident alien taxes for 2015 tax year? I have done my own research, but not super confident, would appreciate your wisdom...

Bank accounts still in Canada:
(1) How do I handle foreign currency fluctuations on these deposits? The money has never been in USD so I don't really have a cost basis for it. The logic in this post makes sense to me: https://www.quora.com/Foreign-currency- ... by-the-IRS
(eg. no Forex gains/losses on money that is completely outside the USA). But there are no references and I can't seem to find the relevant IRS Pub or topic that discusses this.
(2) Going forward do I simply report interest income every year (converting CAD interest to USD)? I don't need to worry about the USD value of the CAD principal going up and down, correct? Or am I required to use the USD value on Jan 1 2015 as a basis to keep track, or some other method?
(3) What are the implications if I eventually want to bring the money into USA?

Non-registered mutual funds:
(4) This seems like a headache due to PFICs (like most, I was also late to this party).
(4a) From my reading, CDN mutual fund is a PFIC. I don't have all the information for QEF, so I think I should elect mark-to-market.
(4b) Unlike with the bank accounts (if I am correct about #2), it seems like I am required to track currency fluctuations with this.