How to Obtain Refund of Canadian Withholding

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

bob16325

How to Obtain Refund of Canadian Withholding

Post by bob16325 »

I am a US consultant that does occassional work in Canada. My most recent client withheld 15% of my fees, telling me that I'll be able to get them refunded. From what I can tell, I'll have to file a Canadian tax return to get this refund.

1. Is this correct? Do I have to file a Canadian Tax Return?
2. I have no idea which forms to use, or how to fill in the return. Any advise?

Thanks,
Bob
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

1. of course. That money was remitted to the govt. You can only get this backat tax time.
2. A Cdn tax return for non-residents.
nelsona non grata. Non pro. Please Search previous posts, no situation is unique as you might think. Happy Browsing :D
bob16325

Post by bob16325 »

Thank you for your response, but when I googled "Canadian Return for Non-Residents," I was taken to the Canadian Government website that provided pages and pages of information that a tax accountant would have to look at in order to understand. I have already spent about 8 hours looking into this issue and am frustrated. WHO CAN HELP ME. I'll pay!
Bob
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

Its not that complicated. Its a tax return. You will get a form from your client. and you will input. Nothing to worry about at this time.
nelsona non grata. Non pro. Please Search previous posts, no situation is unique as you might think. Happy Browsing :D
bob16325

Post by bob16325 »